This is such a confusing topic for families. When do you move a child from a backwards facing car seat to a front facing car seat, on to a booster and ultimately when is it safe to take our kids out of boosters and simply use those seat belts? I just did some research and here is what I found:
What Seat Should You Use & When: Info Here
Colorado Law: The new law, enacted on August 1, 2010, requires all children under age 8 to be properly protected in a child safety seat when traveling in a motor vehicle. As a result, thousands of 6- and 7-year-olds across the state are now riding in booster seats. Previously, the law required only 4 and 5-year-olds to be in booster seats. Children ages 4–7 who use booster seats are 45% less likely to be injured in a crash compared with children who are restrained only by seat belts.
Get Your Car Seat Installation Checked at Fitting Stations across Colorado or at Parenting Place. They require reservations, but will help you schedule a car seat check with a professional. CDOT claims that over 90% of all seats they inspect are installed incorrectly. Yikes!
Have you had good or bad experiences getting your car seats installed? Keeping your children facing backwards as long as possible?